Why do I ditch a custom blog for a platform?

Overcoming the shiny object syndrome.

ยท

3 min read

Why do I ditch a custom blog for a platform?

It's been some time, probably three years or more since I created a gatsby site with the blog for myself, and today I archived it and decided to join Hashnode instead.

This was the latest design on the site/blog when I said ๐Ÿ‘‹ ciao.

Seek ๐Ÿ‘€

I struggled to start writing and in my free time when I decided to write something I would just spend that time redesigning or improving the site. In the worst case, I would rewrite and redesign everything. That would take all the energy and fun from me, My attention would go to playing with stuff that I find interesting at that time. On one hand, that can be useful to learn and explore different technologies. I learned about GraphQL because of that, and on the other hand, I didn't realize that I struggle with shiny object syndrome. To give more context. It wasn't just a blog, in the same way, all the side projects that I would start would end up as experiments to handle scaling or other imaginary tasks I would create for myself. I would give zero focus on what actually matters for the project.

Why Hashonde?

Let me go back to the second point of this article, which is the platform, and why I chose the hashnode for my blog. I didn't want to dive once again into the research on what would be the best or the most logical thing to decide, instead, I relied on trust, I trusted Bruno Raljic with his decision, and I know he had a lot of experience with the hashnode. And I decided to give it a shot as well, My only criteria was that I don't have too much control to influence the site, I just wanted a platform to do all the things for me, and that only thing I need to do is the writing. And on the first run, Hashnode had a great user experience, I managed to create a blog with just 2 or 3 clicks. To connect the blog with my domain was easy, and it was done in a matter of seconds. Also, Hashnode provides a whole community of bloggers underneath. This is a cool addition, and if you are just starting that can be nice since it's not that you are sending your first blog into the void.

New beginning

To be honest, even starting over on the new platform is like reinforcing the SOS, but only time will show if this is just another form of it or a step forward, If I don't write any new posts here then it was just another shiny object.

The horizon

how I'm trying to overcome the SOS

The first step is always the hardest one to make, and for me, the first step was admitting that I might not be doing the right thing. I know, I know it is impossible for you to do something wrong, That was my struggle too. The first step is to find out what behavior you don't like, and then to take possible actions to change that behavior, and maybe the change will not bring the change in the behavior but if you keep pushing for finding the change you will eventually change the behavior.

Do you also have trouble focusing on things that matter? Or always new shiny "objects"?

ย